It’s better this way “Divorce”

I looked up, and my mum looked at me. Her eyes were a little bit clear, and i could tell she had something on her mind. She told me we needed to have a talk in a separate room. At first I thought i had done something wrong. I don’t remember what day it was or what week it was, but i sure do remember what happened. We went into the so-called “pink room” and sat down by the piano, its was kinda like an office, with pink walls. We started talking and i soon understood something was wrong.

The tears started pressing on my eyes, it hurt. I was furious, I did not want to be one of them. One of them whose parents move apart. I told my mum they had to figure it out, there had to be something they could do, I said “go to therapy!”. At first i did not understand because I had never seen my mum or dad fight or scream at each other, at least not a lot compared to other families. My mum kept telling me, it has to be this way, it will be a lot better this way. I started wiping my eyes. Tears was running down my cheek, and i could berly talk. All that was running through my mind, was how horrible it would be to move, move away from everything that i knew, everything that was familiar to me. She was putting my safety at risk, at least that is what i thought at that moment. She sat there comforting me, telling me everything would be ok, but I did not believe her, I was to caught up in thinking about the negative things. That day I was 14, and I had no idea of how things would turn out.

Today I am 24 and I am so glad that my parents choose to get divorced. The older I got, the more and more I understood that my parents were not happy together. They had been married for 20 Years and a lot had changed over that time. Today I understand the concept of personal growth and the importance of being happy with the situation your are in. Moving out, made my mum and dad into stronger persons. They got courage to do things they had never done before, and they were on their own. probably scary after being with some one for 20 years. I think me and my brothers were really lucky, because our parents lived really close to each other. Another thing I liked, was that we could visit who ever we wanted when we wanted. We lived with our mum, but we could visit our dad when we wanted to. One thing that  made it easier for me, was that my parents managed to have a good contact with each other. They saw the importance of being friends rather than enemies. My personal meaning is that if you are not happy together, dont force something that is not ment to be. People change over time, and its hard to predict the future, we are not perfect and its human to make mistakes. I would say its smarter to get out, before it gets to ugly, so that you can spare your self and the kids. 

In 2008, 40 % in the USA got divorced. Today its pretty normal to be a kid with divorced parents, but 10 years ago, I remember being one of the few, and when you live in a small suburb everybody knows what is going on. I feel with the kids out there whose parents are getting divorced. Maybe things are looking a little dark right now, but hang in there and you will se that your parents will be happier and it will affect you in a good way. So to all the parents out there, please stay friends for the kids, and don’t talk bad about one another in front of the kids!

I LOVE MY DAD AND MUM, AND I EXCEPT THEY GOT DIVORCED!

kristi

Leave a Reply

