“Working 9 to 5”

“Working 9 to 5, what a way to make a living” does it sound familiar? I guess Dolly Partons song is one of the good old classics. I just got home from work, and that song had been stuck on my mind the whole day. So I figured that maybe I’d get rid of it if I wrote something about work, if not I could laugh at the idea that it might be stuck on your mind the rest of the day ” Working 9 to 5, what a way to make a living!!”

What kinda job du you have? do you get up early in the morning and go to work at 8 or 9, or do you work evenings? Maybe you are one of those that work Shifts, so that it all depends on the day and the week. Well, right now I call my self an independent consultant. Which means that I rent my self out as a sub to different types of job’s. At the moment I am working at 4 different places, but I am not a regular employee. When I am doing this I have to make sure to coordinate all the jobs, so that I never doubel book. I also have to make sure that I don’t work too much or to little, its kinda like I am my own boss. Being my own boss is cool, but you have to be strict with your self to know that you are working enough. Another thing i find hard, is when my week is already full from one place, when a second place call and say they have an emergency! What do you do? do you say yes, or do you say no. When my schedule is already booked, I normally look at the day before and the day after to decide if I can work or not (and if my extra battery is charged). Maybe you are thinking, how can you work at two places at the same time? and the truth is, I can’t. What I mean by working double is that I work from 8 til 4 in the morning and then switch to a different job in the evening. Right now I am working at a hotel as a waitress, at a fitness center as a receptionist, and I work in two different kindergartens.

I don’t know about you, but I think that work experience is really important. It gives you experience in many different areas, both in handling your self and in handling others. It’s a personal growth method, and you get paid, so why not!  Right now I am working to save up money so that I can get one step closer to my dreams. Ofcourse when I work, I know that its because of the money, but I also try to make the best out of it.  If you se the joy in your work, you will get so much more back. When I go to work being in a good mood, it affects my colleagues and it makes work more fun!  Yeh, like you have never herd that one before, more like 1000000000000 times. I guess there must be som truth in it.

Do you like your job? I love my job’s!  Your probably thinking what the heck are you talking about, changing diapers, cleaning throw up, answering phones, running around cleaning tables? Well, that is true, if that’s how you look at it. When I go to work in the kindergarten I am excited to se what will happen today. With kids, you never know what you will get, and when they come running at you in the door, it just takes my heart away. Playing around on the floor, dancing to music, painting and drawing for a few hours is nothing but joy, and there is a reason to why shows like, “kids say the darnest things” are invented. When I am a waitress, it’s always fun to se what kinda people you are serving. Sometimes you even get a free show, depending on the entertainment that the guests have hired. In the evening we also get to taste some of the wine and the 3 course meal of the day, I am not a chef, but I sure don’t complain when I get to taste free food. When we are talking about waitresses, everyone is always discussing the TIPS! I have to admit, it’s a little bit interesting to se if you will get tips or not! Among us colleagues we always discus ahead who will give and who will not. Sometimes we just know, that the person will not give you anything no matter how good you are.  So, if you are one of them, maybe you should start to give some!

Well, I am thankful for the jobs I have right now, and I am trying to learn as much as possible from them. Another important thing when you are working is to create your own network, and that is something I enjoy doing. Working in 4 different places, talking to different people is interesting. I am also taking this opportunity to look at different leaderchipstyles, types of leaders, working environments, colleagues and how things are done differently in different situations.  Since I am thinking about studying communication and leadership later on, its great for me to se how different leaders are, and how the employees respond to them.

If you have an interesting job that you love, please share it with me(us) in my comments!

kristi

Leave a Reply

